The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics


The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics by Penguin Audio at UT Air Boat. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. The #1 New York Times-bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany, the inspiration for the PBS documentary The Boys of '36, broadcast to coincide with the 2016 Summer Olympics and the 80th anniversary of the boys' gold medal race. Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons


The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics by Penguin Audio
4.4 out of 5 stars with 13 reviews
Condition: New
Availability: In Stock
$29.71


Quantity:  

 


Product Description & Reviews

The #1 New York Times-bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany, the inspiration for the PBS documentary The Boys of '36, broadcast to coincide with the 2016 Summer Olympics and the 80th anniversary of the boys' gold medal race. Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936. The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together - a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism. Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

Features & Highlights

Additional Information

Manufacturer:
Penguin Audio
Category:
Used Boat Parts
Release Date:
2013-06-04
Author:
Daniel James Brown
Publisher:
Penguin Audio
Creator:
Array
Format:
Unabridged
Publication Date:
2013-06-04
Binding:
Audible Audiobook

 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by Penguin Audio, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Name:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


New Starter For Evinrude Johnson 20HP 25HP 30HP 40HP 277432 278232 3292133 378674 379091 379818 380139 380239 381864 386591 386597 585061 1113519
mpn: PP5712N, ean: 0862798020369,
Replaces OE#: Delco 1113519, Original Reference Number 0255640, 5705140, Outboard Marine Corp (OMC) 277432, 278232, 3292133, 378674, 379091, 379818, 380139, 380239, 381864, 386591, 386597, 585061, 586278, Prestolite 20513500TBA, 46-117, 46-121, 46-12...

The Sailor's Book of Small Cruising Sailboats: Reviews and Comparisons of 360 Boats Under 26 Feet
ean: 9780071636520, isbn: 0071636528,
For the first time ever, a comparative survey of 95 percent of the fiberglass pocketcruising sailboats ever built Author Steve Henkel has researched hundreds of cruising sailboats less than 26 feet long--pocket cruisers--to create this definitive gal...

Don Casey's Complete Illustrated Sailboat Maintenance Manual: Including Inspecting the Aging Sailboat, Sailboat Hull and Deck Repair, Sailboat Refinishing, Sailbo
mpn: 9780071462846, ean: 9780071462846, isbn: 0071462848,
The definitive guide from the world's best-known sailboat maintenance expert Don Casey’s Complete Illustrated Sailboat Maintenance Manual combines six core volumes into a single, utterly dependable resource that answers every frequent question, exp...

Educated: A Memoir
Number-one New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Boston Globe best seller Named One of the Ten Best Books of the Year by The New York Times Book Review One of President Barack Obama's Favorite Books of the Year Bill Gates's Holiday Reading List Fi...



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service / Accessibility Statement
© 2019 - utairboat.com. All Rights Reserved.